Primark in Berlin?

1 Feb

In fact, I usually write for the beyond belief blog, but this week I would like to contribute an article for this fancy fashion blog.

All the fashionistas know the Irish clothing chain Primark and most of them try to book their annual holiday at least close to one of them. As a matter of fact, it is not even that hard to do so, because Primark just opened their 200th store last year. Until now, the clothing retailer is represented by stores in Ireland, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Spain, Portugal and three stores in Germany. Now rumors begin to spread out that Primark might also launch another store in Berlin – good news?

Do we actually want this store in Berlin?

I bet that many people are looking forward to a Primark store in Berlin, but I also wanted to know what my friends and classmates think, therefore I asked a few of them about their Primark experience.

Lea B. from the anything fancy blog immediately replied that she did not like the huge Primark store in London, because she felt that it was too crowded and pretty dirty. Moreover she realized that nobody respected the cloth and everybody just pulled it behind oneself on the ground.

When I told my friend Mia about the rumors, she just got annoyed and said “Fine then, so I can cancel my flight to London now or what!?”

My other friends Milena, who also writes for the beyond belief blog, and Kristin agree that Primark would not be the same, if we have one in Berlin as well. It would be nothing special anymore, nothing you can look forward to. It would just be like every other H&M or Zara and everybody is going to wear it.

In contrast to that Nadja would warmly welcome a new store in Berlin. She actually has never been there, but she likes the style of the clothes for such a bargain.

During my research I realized that people even think about what to wear when they know they will enter a Primark. It is not because they have to look good, it is more because it practical. Primark is known for long queues in front of the changing rooms, therefore people tend to wear chemise under their clothes and maybe even a skirt and leggings, because it makes it easier to try on the new stuff in between the aisles without getting naked.

Will a Primark store in Berlin achieve sustained success or will it just lose its uniqueness in Germany? Do we really need another Primark store here or would online shopping be enough?

5 Responses to “Primark in Berlin?”

  1. lisl4u February 2, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Thanks a lot for your contribution to our blog, I really like that you interviewed people so that different opinions come up and the reader can decide which of them he agrees the most or even create a mixture of all of them and have an own decision. I personally would welcome a Primark in Berlin, just like Nadja, on the other hand Milenas thoughts that it was nothing special anymore when we have a shop here are a good argument too. In the end we can not influence Primark´s decision and if there was a shop in Berlin, all of us would go and at least check it out once, I am sure.
    Anyway, nice post!

  2. Lea J. February 3, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Thanks for contributing to our blog, Jessie. I also like the way you kind of described the pros and cons if Primark would open a store here. I personally would have never thought about that because I, like Lisa and Nadja, would totally love a Primark store opening in Berlin. But the other ones like Milena and Lea are right aswell, in the end it wouldn’t be as special as it is at the moment. However I think that it would be a good idea, as it also would be a competitor for H&M or Zara and therefore prices may fall. Great Post!

  3. Bruce Spear February 3, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    VERY nice that you posted here!

    I think the interviews are just great, too, because then you find all sorts of ideas popping up.

    From the Marketing Mavens I find here two important questions (which would deepen this blog post!)

    Is a crowded store a plus or a minus, because as I commented here before, stores like Filene’s in Boston create tremendous excitement with crowds, as you see described here, http://bit.ly/fy2ZYe: this is a serious issue for markers, as you will find by asking Google “do crowds increase sales?” — a lot has been written on this.

    Then there’s the question of location, noted here as well: isn’t there something special about traveling to shop, for example, http://bit.ly/h9aJZD . And if you have the same shops everywhere, well, what about our anxiety over conformity, http://bit.ly/gHGkvZ ?

    Nice post, thanks!

    Dr.B!

  4. luckylea February 9, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I agree that crowds can be able to increase sales, it is like a restaurant, you only visit the once with visitors because you know the food must be good. But there is a difference between a big crowd that appreciates the fashion that is offered and a crowed that just grab everything they can get into their hands and drag the stuff over the floor. Also I feel like Primark really just sell cheap copies of the stuff you can buy at stores like Topshop and most of the stuff doesn’t look half as good.
    I wouldn’t mind if primark opened a shop in Berlin because I think its good for really cheap basics. And I have to say that my experience at primark weren’t that grade so I wouldn’t mind if primark lost its special touch :)

  5. mmhwr February 15, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    To further elaborate my opinion as already mentioned in the post I have to say that I am sure it would bother most of us if a Primark would settle in Berlin. The conformity of fashion all over Europe has increased and amongst many other aspects, part of traveling is still shopping somewhere else and if all textile franchises reached Berlin where would we go to find our uniqueness?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

